Toyota Lexcen (Holden Commodore)

Zaheer June 11, 2011 0

Holden is a subsidiary of General Motors (GM) in Australia and formerly in New Zealand. Holden manufactured the first Holden Commodore back in 1978. Holden came with a proposal of replacing the long-serving Kingswood nameplate with a smaller, Opel-based model in the mid-1970s. Before the launch of fourth generation in 2006, Opel went on providing the basis for future generations. In fourth generation model, an Australian developed platform was used.

In the beginning, the vehicle was launched only as a sedan body style. However, a year later the range of models expanded with an inclusion of station wagon followed by utility and long-wheelbase Statesman/Caprice by-products in 1990. The third generation architecture was used to revive the Monaro Coupe, a 4-door Crewman utility and a 4-wheel drive Adventra crossover. Holden took another step in 1984 by rebranding its flagship Commodore model as Holden Calais. In 1988 and 2000, Holden Berlina and Holden Ute were released respectively. Both these models were previously sold as Commodore Berlina and Commodore utility.

The only major rival for the Holden Commodore is come from locally built Ford Falcon. Before the launch of second generation Holden Commodore, the Holden models were ranked just a step below to the full-size Falcon. However, Holden Commodore has also faced some minor competition from Toyota and Mitsubishi Motors in the past. Toyota Motors Corporation sold the Toyota Lexcen version of the second generation Commodore from 1989 to 1997. In 1997, Holden expanded the export plans of its Commodore with the launch of third generation Commodore. Following its export plans, Holden has been exported under the brand names of Chevrolet Lumina and Chevrolet Omega since the late-1990s. The Vauxhall VXR8 is another Holden’s model offered for sale in international market in 2007.

The Holden has also exported its models to the Southeast Asia as Opel Calais in the mid-1990s. The North American received its share of Holden Commodore as Pontiac G8 from 2007 to 2009.

Since its first appearance, the Commodore has already been in its fourth generation. All the four generations of Commodore comprise of several different model versions. The timeline of the Commodore’s four generation is given below:

First Generation

  • VB (1978–1980)
  • VC (1980–1981)
  • VH (1981–1984)
  • VK (1984–1986)
  • VL (1986–1988)

Second Generation

  • VN (1988–1991)
  • VP (1991–1993)
  • VR (1993–1995)
  • VS (1995–1997)

Third Generation

  • VT (1997–2000)
  • VX (2000–2002)
  • VY (2002–2004)
  • VZ (2004–2006)

Fourth Generation

  • VE (2006–present)

Leave A Response »