Toyota Crown

Zaheer May 31, 2011 0

The series of full-sized luxury sedans are given the name Toyota Crown by the Toyota Motor Corporation. The Crown was basically designed to serve the purpose as taxi and introduced mainly in Japan as well as some other Asian countries. However, between 1950 and 1971, the Crown was also marketed in the United States.

Toyota Crown one of the oldest sedans of Toyota which is still in production. Century and Majesta are the only two vehicles that outclassed it in social status. There are many Japanese companies that opt Crown as company limousine.

In 1964, the first Crown model was exported to Europe in Finland.  The Crown was also imported to Netherlands and Belgium. The Crown was also marketed in United Kingdom up to the first half of 1980s. During 1965 to 1968, the Crown was also exported to Canada. Over the time, the Crown became an expensive car to buy in several markets as a result of which it was substituted by the relatively inexpensive Cressida whose exports were started in first quarter of 1980s.

Australia has also remained an important export market for the Crown for the fact that during the mid 1960s to late 1980s, the Crown was produced here utilizing several local ingredients.

From 1960s to 1980s, Trinidad and Tobago also saw the production of Toyota models. Toyota models received a reasonable amount of popularity here. The models here received a unique ‘Crown’ badge on the front grille instead of the regular stylized ‘T’; however, the regular Toyota badge was still used on the rear of the vehicle.

The Toyota Crown has a long production history as it has already been in its thirteen generation since it first appeared in 1955.  The timeline for appearance of each generation is given below:

  • First Generation (RS Model-S30 Model: 1955- 1962)
  • Second Generation (S40 Model: 1962- 1967)
  • Third Generation (S50 Model: 1967- 1971)
  • Fourth Generation (S60 & S70 Models: 1971- 1974)
  • Fifth Generation (S80 & S100 Models: 1974-1979)
  • Sixth Generation (S110 Model: 1979- 1983)
  • Seventh Generation (S120 Model: 1983- 1987)
  • Eighth Generation (S130 Model: 1987- 1991) and Facelift (1991-1997)
  • Ninth Generation (S130 Facelift and S140 Models: 1991-1995)
  • Tenth Generation (S150 Model: 1995-1999)
  • Eleventh Generation (S170 Model: 1999-2003)

  • Twelfth Generation (S180 Model: 2003-2008)
  • Thirteenth Generation (S200 Model: 2008-Present)

Traditionally, Toyota always goes for ‘Crown’ name for its primary sedans as an inspiration. For instance, the Corolla is Latin word for ‘small crown’; the Camry is a phonetic transcription of the Japanese word ‘kanmuri’ meaning ‘crown’; and the Corona is a Spanish word for ‘crown’.

Leave A Response »