Toyota Condor or Toyota Kijang

Zaheer May 31, 2011 0

Toyota Condor or Toyota Kijang is a kind of pickup or minibus produced by Toyota Motor Corporation and marketed mainly in Indonesia and Brunei. The term Kijang means deer (muntjac in Indonesian). Since its launch in 1977, the pickup has gained a lot of popularity in the country. In addition to Indonesia, the Kijang is also marketed in other parts of the world, though under different brand names, for instance, it is sold in Malaysia as Unser (as Innova for the 4th generation), in Taiwan as Zace, in India, Nepal and Philippines as Qaulis and Innova, while as Condor and Stallion in South Africa. In the Philippines, the Kijang is also referred to as Revo.

Unlike other 4-wheel drive vehicles, Kijang is a two-wheel drive and is a most economical option in the automotive markets. The other features offered in Kijang include high seating capacity, large ground clearance as well as strong suspension so as to make it an ideal vehicle in the areas with poor road conditions or rough terrains.

The Kijang can accommodate 9-15 passengers at a time. Almost all the Kijang are built as a Complete Knock-down (CKD) in each country where it is marketed.

First Generation (1977-1980)

The first prototype model was revealed at Jakarta Fair in 1975 followed by first production unit in 1977. The very first Kijang was a boxy little pickup truck equipped with a 1.2-L 3K engine mated to 4-speed manual transmission. There were some variants which were built with rear body and roof. A local company produced the Kijang Minibus.

Second Generation (1981-1985)

In the 1981, the second generation 20-series Kijang was introduced. It shared most of the features with predecessors, though it received different body panels. It was powered by a 1.3-L 4K engine in the beginning but later in 1985 received a 1.5-L 5K engine mated to 4-speed manual transmission.

Third Generation (1986-1996)

The third generation Kijang was offered in both short as well as long wheelbase, i.e. KF40 series and KF50 series respectively. It was first launched in 1986. The 4-speed manual transmission was standard; however, the Super Kijang came with 5-speed manual transmission. There were certain companies while working under the supervision of Toyota produced Full Pressed Body Minibus.

In 1992, the Minibus received some slight changes and was renamed as Toyota Original Body. The Minibus was offered in two trim levels named Standard Deluxe and Grand Extra where short models received emblems SX, SSX, SGX and long models received LX, LSX and LGX. The Kijang received a new 1.8-L 7K-C engine along with a new grille in 1994.

Fourth Generation (1997-2003)

The fourth generation 60-series Kijang was introduced in 1997. It was offered with different engine variants including: 2.0-litre gasoline, 1.8-litre EFI gasoline, or 2.4-litre diesel engines. It was offered in two trim levels: Short Series including SX, SSX, SGX and Long Series including LX, LSX, LGX and Krista (Deluxe Sport Edition)

Fifth Generation (2004-2012)

The fifth generation Kijang was introduced in 1994. The fifth generation Kijang was luxurious and a bit expensive than the fourth generation models. This entirely redesigned vehicle was given the name Kijang Innova, a MPV equipped with different engine variants including a 2.0 liter 1TR-FE VVT-i Gasoline, 2.7 liter 2TR-FE VVT-i Gasoline, or 2.5 liter 2KD-FTV D4-D Common Rail Diesel. The Kijang Innova used the WISH platform for its chassis.

Kijang Innova is marketed in India, Malaysia, East Timor and Philippines.

Sixth Generation (2012 Onwards)

Sixth generation Kijang is still in the pipeline. Toyota claims that the sixth generation Kijang will be revealed in 2012. According to the company, it will carry the similar features from its predecessor, Innova. The drivetrain and powertrain will also be the same, i.e. 1TR-FE 2.0 L 16 valve VVT-I (petrol) and 2KD-FTV 2.5 L D4-D common-rail 16 valve (diesel).

Leave A Response »