Toyota Carina

Zaheer May 30, 2011 0

Toyota Carina, a large family car from Japanese automaker, Toyota remained in production from December 1970 to 2000. In general, the car was offered as a 4-door version of Celica, however, some earlier generations were also offered as 2-door and station wagon versions. With the passage of time, the car was taken as the sister car to the Corona, but with much sportier, unique bodywork and interior equipments. The Carina stood between the Corolla and Corona and targeted the young customers. It was replaced by Toyota Allion in 2001.

Although, the Carina nameplate has been in markets (except for USA) to refer to the cars like Corona, the name Carina is used for completely a different car in the Japanese domestic market.

The company adopted this Carina name from the Carina star cluster.

First Generation (1970-1977) A10 Series

The first generation Carina was launched in December 1970 and in Europe, the car was introduced in October 1971. The car came with a 1588 cc OHV (2T) engine, with 4-speed gearbox and front-wheel disc brakes. Initially, the car offered with optional features like reclining seats with built-in head restraints, radio, clock, reversing lights and servo-assistance on the brakes.

Second Generation (1977-1981) A40 Series

The second generation Carina appeared for the first time in August 1977 followed by its launch in December 1977 in Germany. While it reached in European markets in 1978. It was equipped with a 1,588 cc 2T engine, generating 75 PS (55 kW; 74 hp). However, an automatic transmission was optional.

Third Generation (1981-1984) A60 Series

In September 1981, the third generation Carina was introduced. Besides following its predecessors, it was also offered with a 1,839 cc 1C diesel engine, generating 65 PS (48 kW) at 4,500 rpm.

Surf series was introduced in 1982 equipped with 1C (1.800 cc OHC diesel) engines followed by four-door sedan Carina FF (T150 system) in 1984.

Fourth Generation (1984-1988) T150 Series

The fourth generation Carina was launched in May 1984. It was a front engine, front-wheel drive, 4-door sedan (T150 series). Majority of its features were similar to the one found in the previous generations. The replacement Coupe and Van models also appeared. Also two new versions of engines were introduced including the 1800 cc engine, electronically controlled distributorless ignition, and a 2000 cc diesel.

Fifth Generation (1988-1992) T170 Series

In 1988, the fifth generation Carina was introduced. The exterior received some rounded corners as per prevailing designs. The Surf (wagon), front-wheel drive vehicle also received a complete redesigning. Different of engines were introduced such as 4S-Fi is an 1800 cc engine type, 1600 cc of the FF-4A-GE and the specification for higher-power higher-cam-4A-FHE car, 1500 cc of the 5A-F type, 2000 cc diesel-2C, the 3E-1500cc Van, 2000 cc diesel-2C engines.

Sixth Generation (1992-1996) T190 Series

The sixth generation models were in fact the redesigned models of the Celica, Carina ED and EXIV much alike to the larger Toyota Mark II series JZX90, in 1993. The production of these three models cut off in 1998.

Seventh Generation (1996-2001) T210 Series

The seventh generation model was a GT version equipped with a 5-valve per cylinder 4A-GE ‘black top’ engine mated to a 5-speed C56 manual transmission introduced in 1996. A 6-speed C160 manual transmission was introduced in 1998. With the launch of Toyota Allion in 2001, the production was ceased.

Leave A Response »