Toyota Avensis

Zaheer May 30, 2011 0

The Toyota Avensis has been in production since 1997. It is a large family car manufactured in Derbyshire, United Kingdom. It is offered as a four-door saloon, five-door liftback and estate and considered as the direct successor of Carina E. There is a large MPV version as well called the Toyota Avensis Verso built on completely new platform referred to as Toyota Ipsum in Japanese market while Toyota Picnic in other markets. Toyota Avensis is also considered as the base vehicle for the youth-oriented Scion tC in United States.

The Toyota Avensis first launched in 1997 with a view to replace the dependable Toyota Carina E/Toyota Corona.  Though, Avensis was also dependable and reliable, so it proved to be a good success for the Toyota Europe. Since its first appearance, the Avensis has become upgraded and updated in terms of size, technology, power and fuel economy so as to give tough competition to its rival brands including Mazda6, Ford Mondeo, Volkswagen Passat, Opel/Vauxhall Insignia, Citroën C5 and Peugeot 508.

First Generation (1997–2003)

As we have mentioned above that the first generation Avensis is the replacement vehicle for the Toyota Carina E, so except for engines and mechanical specifications, Avensis received a whole new styling. The car was manufactured at the Burnaston Factory in Derby.

The Avensis was offered with four different engines including 1.6-L 4A-FE, 1.6-L 4A-FE, 1.8-L 7A-FE, 2.0-L 3S-FE, 2.0-L 3S-GE, 2.0-L TD 2C-TE and 2.0-L D-4D 1AD-FTV and in three different body versions including saloon, hatchback and estate. All the versions gave good reliable, comfortable and quality driving experience.

Second Generation (2003–2008)

The second generation Avensis appeared in 2003. The car was offered with a series of different engines including 1.8-L 1ZZ-FE, 2.0-L 1AZ-FSE, 2.4-L 2AZ-FSE, 2.0-L D-4D 1AD-FTV, 2.2-L D-4D 2AD-FTV and 2.2-L D-4D 2AD-FHV. Besides these, a 2.4-L four-cylinder engine from Camry also included in the lineup.

The second generation Avensis offered in a range of different trim levels in the United Kingdom including T2, T3-S, T3-X, T4, T Spirit, T180 and the TR. The Color Collection is a special trim version based on T2. Ireland received five trim levels including Terra, Aura, Strata, Luna, and Sol.

Third Generation (2008–Present)

The third generation Avensis codenamed T270 was first appeared at the Paris Motor Show in 2008. In January 2009, it was offered for sale officially.

In third generation Avensis, no five-door hatchback is offered, however, it still features front McPherson struts, rear double wishbones, sporty handling as well as comfortable suspension.

The third generation Avensis features three gasoline and three diesel engines. Also, Toyota introduced the Valvematic Technology for the first time in ZR engines. The engines used in Avensis are: 1.6-L 1ZR-FAE, 1.8-L 2ZR-FAE, 2.0-L 3ZR-FAE, 2.0-L D-4D, 2.2-litre D-4D and 2.2-L D-4D. All the engines are paired to a 6-speed manual transmission whereas the 1.8-L and 2.0-L petrol engines are mated to a Multidrive S CVT transmission. The 2.2-L D-4D 150 hp engine is mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission.

Leave A Response »