Toyota Avalon

Zaheer May 30, 2011 0

Toyota Avalon, a full-size vehicle designed and manufactured by the Toyota Motor Corporation in the United States. It is referred to as the flagship sedan of Toyota in the regions including United States, Canada, Puerto Rico and the Middle East. It was also manufactured in Australia from 2000 up to 2005 when the car was replaced by Toyota Aurion in 2006. The very first Toyota Avalon was designed and manufactured in Georgetown, Kentucky and was revealed on February 21, 1994. It was revealed as 1995 model.

In 1999, the second generation model of Avalon was introduced in Japan as well as United States. It became the first Toyota model to feature the non-touch screen navigation system in 2000. The name of the car is supposed to be taken from a mythical island referred to in Camelot lore.

When in 1992, the production of the Toyota Cressida was cut off; Toyota decided to bring a new model to fill up the gap created in US market. Unlike Cressida that was offered as an upper-level midsize rear-wheel drive vehicle with straight-six engine, Avalon is offered as a front-wheel drive, equipped with a V6 engine. Avalon shares its platform with Camry V6 and the Lexus ES.

First Generation (1994–1999)

The first generation Avalon appeared as a completely new car in 1994. It was manufactured in the same Georgetown, Kentucky plant where Camry has been built. Avalon is slightly an extended version of Camry platform powered with a 3.0-L 1MZ-FE V6 engine, generating 192 hp (140 kW) and torque of 285 Nm (210 lb-ft).

The first Avalon was produced in Australia in 2000 and was built in the plant situated at Melbourne in suburb of Altona. However, Avalon failed to make any impression in the Australian market where people preferred V6-powered Camry over Avalon.

Second Generation (1999–2004)

The second generation Avalon came with two trim levels including the basic XL and the upscale XLS. It was also based on the extended Camry platform and equipped with a 3.0-L 1MZ-FE V6 engine paired to VVT-i, sharing it with Toyota Sienna, Lexus RX300, Lexus ES, and the Toyota Highlander, generating 210 hp (157 kW) and torque of 298 Nm (220 lb-ft) and mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission.

The second generation Avalon also featured electroluminescent Optitron gauges, 4-wheel disc ABS, front torso side airbags and 15″ alloy wheels as standard while optional features were JBL audio system, a navigation system, Vehicle Stability Control, and a front row bench seat, allowing up to six passengers. Besides these, dual climate control, stability control, larger 16″ wheels, and driver’s and passenger’s power seats were also optional.

Third Generation (2004–Present)

In 2004, the company started working on a completely new design for 2005 model year in 2004. This redesigned model was first revealed at North American International Auto Show in 2005. It was offered in four trim levels including standard XL trim, a sporty Touring trim, an XLS trim and a premium Limited trim. Except for XL model that offered 16-inch alloy wheels, the rest of all the trim levels came with 17-inch alloy wheels.

The 2011 model of Avalon offered for sale in April 2010.

Leave A Response »